VOOHU WHSFP30111F002 is a functional alternative to the TE Connectivity 2170088-1 — verify with samples in your design. Both are 20-position, 0.80 mm pitch surface-mount host connectors for SFP-family ports; TE calls its part a zSFP+ connector, and the VOOHU drawing is titled SFP28. The two drawings print the same recommended pad, 0.50 ± 0.03 × 2.00 ± 0.05 mm, the same 1.55 ± 0.05 mm locating-hole and 0.85 ± 0.05 mm datum-hole sizes, and an 11.00 mm overall width. Two points are worth settling first: operating temperature, where TE lists −55 to 85 °C and the VOOHU drawing −40 to +105 °C, and contact plating, which each drawing specifies in its own way, as the table below shows.
TE values come from the 2170088-1 product page on te.com, where the part is listed as active, and from TE customer drawing 2170088 (two sheets, latest revision dated 27 January 2022). VOOHU values come from the WHSFP30111F002 drawing, revision A0: page 1 carries the outline, materials, plating and temperature notes, and page 2 the recommended PCB layout. Dimensions are in millimetres. Each cell names its source, so a figure that appears only on TE's product page is marked as such; "not stated" means the source for that column gives no figure.
| Parameter | TE 2170088-1 (source) | VOOHU WHSFP30111F002 (source) |
|---|---|---|
| Type | zSFP+ connector, 20 positions (product page); SMT, 20 POS, zSFP+ (drawing title) | SFP28 1×1 connector (drawing title, p1); 20 pads (p2) |
| Pitch | 0.80 typ (drawing sheets 1–2); 0.8 mm (product page) | 0.80 typ (p1, p2) |
| Mounting | Surface mount (product page) | Surface-mount solder tails (p1 side view, p2 layout) |
| Recommended pad | 0.50 ± 0.03 × 2.00 ± 0.05, 20 places (drawing sheet 2) | 0.50 ± 0.03 × 2.00 ± 0.05, position tolerance 0.06 (p2) |
| Locating holes | 1.55 ± 0.05 (drawing sheet 2) | Ø1.55 ± 0.05, 2 places (p2) |
| Datum hole A | 0.85 ± 0.05 (drawing sheet 2) | Ø0.85 ± 0.05 (p2) |
| Host-board layout, horizontal dimensions | 15.25, 13.25, 11.92, 10.18, 8.48, 5.38, 3.68, 3.32, 2.32, 1.00, 0.80, 3.72 (drawing sheet 2) | 15.25, 13.25, 11.93, 10.18, 8.48, 5.38, 3.68, 3.33, 2.33, 1.00, 1.00, 0.80, 3.73 (p2) |
| Host-board layout, vertical dimensions | 7.80, 6.80, 5.00, 0.90, 7.70, 3.20 (drawing sheet 2) | 7.80, 6.80, 5.00, 0.90, 7.70, 3.20 (p2) |
| Overall width | 11.00 (drawing sheet 1) | 11.00 (p1 front view) |
| Inner width of the front opening | 9.35 ± 0.08 (drawing sheet 1) | 9.40 (p1 front view) |
| Other body dimensions | 9.60, 1.16, 2.92 (drawing sheet 1) | 9.60 (p1 bottom view); 1.16, 2.92 (p1 front view) |
| Locating posts | 1.40 ± 0.05 (drawing sheet 1) | Ø1.40 ± 0.05 (p1 bottom view) |
| Side-view dimensions printed | 7.87, 5.35, 1.10, 4.24, 0.40, 0.71; reference (7.87), (8.67); 5.33 in the front view (drawing sheet 1) | 7.87, 5.35, 0.40, 0.71, 3.63 (p1 side view) |
| Mating-area plating | −1: gold, or gold flash over palladium-nickel, 0.76 µm min total (drawing sheet 1, part table and note) | Gold 15 µin or 30 µin min (p1 note) |
| Underplate | Nickel 2.54 µm min (drawing sheet 1) | Nickel 50 µin min (p1 note) |
| Solder-tail finish | Gold flash (drawing sheet 1) | Tin 100 µin min over 50 µin min nickel (p1 note) |
| Contact / housing material | Copper alloy / thermoplastic (drawing sheet 1); UL 94V-0 (product page) | Copper alloy / high-temperature glass-filled thermoplastic, UL 94V-0, black (p1) |
| Operating temperature | −55 to 85 °C (product page; not on the drawing) | −40 to +105 °C (p1) |
| Storage temperature | Not stated | −55 to +105 °C (p1) |
| Data rate | 56 Gb/s max (product page) | Not stated (drawing titled SFP28) |
| Contact current | 0.5 A max (product page) | Not stated |
| Light pipe | None (product page) | None (product page) |
Unit note: 1 µin = 0.0254 µm, so 0.76 µm is about 30 µin, 2.54 µm is 100 µin and 50 µin is 1.27 µm.
Pads and holes. Both recommended layouts use 0.50 ± 0.03 × 2.00 ± 0.05 mm pads on a 0.80 mm pitch, 1.55 ± 0.05 mm locating holes and a 0.85 ± 0.05 mm datum hole, and the six vertical layout dimensions (7.80, 6.80, 5.00, 0.90, 7.70 and 3.20 mm) carry the same values. Along the horizontal axis, four values are 0.01 mm apart — 11.92 / 11.93, 3.32 / 3.33, 2.32 / 2.33 and 3.72 / 3.73 mm (TE / VOOHU) — which reads as a difference in how each drawing rounds the figure. That reading comes from comparing two public drawings, not from a written confirmation. Draw the WHSFP30111F002 land pattern from the VOOHU drawing's own values, overlay it on your 2170088-1 pattern, and send both to our FAE team before committing a board revision.
The front opening: 9.35 ± 0.08 mm against 9.40 mm. In the front view, both drawings dimension the inner width of the receptacle opening just below the 11.00 mm overall width: 9.35 ± 0.08 mm on TE's drawing and 9.40 mm on VOOHU's, which prints no tolerance beside that value. The nominal figures are 0.05 mm apart. The other body figures in the table — 11.00, 9.60, 1.16 and 2.92 mm, and the 1.40 ± 0.05 mm locating posts — carry the same values on both drawings. This comparison covers the connector only; the cage is a separate part, and our SFP+ and SFP28 cage selection guide covers that choice.
Contact plating, layer by layer. On the mating area, TE's drawing calls for 0.76 µm minimum total for the -1 — gold, or gold flash over palladium-nickel — while the VOOHU drawing reads "gold 15 µin or 30 µin min". The VOOHU drawing does not assign either thickness to the WHSFP30111F002 part number, so if your specification sets a minimum gold thickness, write that figure into your sample request and have our FAE team confirm the plating the parts will carry. Under the gold, TE specifies at least 2.54 µm of nickel; VOOHU specifies at least 50 µin (1.27 µm). On the solder tails, TE uses gold flash and VOOHU uses tin, 100 µin minimum over 50 µin minimum nickel, so update the finish on your assembly drawing and look at the solder joints on the first sample build with your own paste and reflow profile.
Operating temperature. TE's drawing gives no temperature range; TE's product page lists −55 to 85 °C. The VOOHU drawing lists −40 to +105 °C operating and −55 to +105 °C storage. Neither operating range contains the other, so compare both ends with the range your product is qualified to before choosing.
Data rate. TE's product page gives the 2170088-1 a maximum data rate of 56 Gb/s. The VOOHU drawing is titled SFP28 and does not state a data rate. If the lane rate of your port is part of qualification, put it in the sample request so the evaluation covers it.
The WHSFP30111F002 is a candidate wherever a board already carries a 2170088-1 or a similar 20-position SFP-family host connector, such as switch line cards and front panels or server network adapters, and the operating range falls within −40 to +105 °C. Its drawing specifies copper-alloy contacts in a high-temperature, glass-filled UL 94V-0 housing with tin-plated surface-mount tails.
This comparison works from the mechanical, material and plating data on the two drawings. For the signal assigned to each of the 20 contacts, see our SFP connector pinout guide.
Q1: What is an alternative to TE 2170088-1 zSFP+ connector?
VOOHU offers the WHSFP30111F002 as a functional alternative to the TE 2170088-1 — verify with samples in your design. Both are 20-position, 0.80 mm pitch SMT host connectors whose drawings give a 0.50 × 2.00 mm recommended pad. Check two differences first: operating temperature (TE −55 to 85 °C on its product page, VOOHU −40 to +105 °C on its drawing) and plating, where TE's -1 calls for 0.76 µm minimum on the mating area and the VOOHU drawing gives gold 15 or 30 µin minimum over 50 µin minimum nickel.
Q2: What is the difference between 2170088-1 and 2170088-2?
TE's customer drawing lists the two part numbers with different mating-area plating: 0.76 µm minimum total for the -1 and 0.38 µm minimum total for the -2. This article compares the -1. The WHSFP30111F002 drawing states mating-area gold as 15 µin or 30 µin minimum without tying a thickness to the part number, so tell our FAE team which thickness your design needs.
Q3: What is the difference between an SFP+ and an SFP28 connector?
In this pair, TE lists the 2170088-1 as a zSFP+ connector and VOOHU titles the WHSFP30111F002 drawing SFP28, yet both drawings show 20 positions on 0.80 mm pitch, an 11.00 mm overall width and 0.50 × 2.00 mm recommended pads. TE's product page lists 56 Gb/s maximum; the VOOHU drawing does not state a rate. For how SFP+ and SFP28 cages and modules relate, see our SFP+ and SFP28 cage selection guide.
Q4: Can I keep my 2170088-1 footprint for the WHSFP30111F002?
Confirm it rather than assume it. Pad size, hole sizes and the six vertical layout dimensions carry the same values on both drawings, while four horizontal dimensions differ by 0.01 mm. That comparison comes from two public drawings, not a written FAE confirmation, so overlay the VOOHU layout on your board, send it to our FAE team and check the solder joints on a sample build.
With your WHSFP30111F002 sample request, include the 2170088-1 land pattern from your board, the minimum mating-area gold thickness your specification calls for and your operating temperature range. Samples are available for evaluation, and selected parts are free of charge. Our FAE team will be glad to confirm the options for your project. Our FAE team can suggest suitable parts and help check the design — for this pair, your land pattern against the four 0.01 mm layout values, the plating thickness the parts will carry, and the temperature range your product needs.
VOOHU supplies RJ45 and SFP connectors, LAN and PoE transformers and common mode chokes from Suzhou, China, to more than 1,500 customers.
To compare the other SFP28 host connectors VOOHU lists, open the SFP connector selector, already filtered to connectors in the SFP28 size.
Related product: WHSFP30111F002 — SFP28 1×1 host connector, 20 positions on 0.80 mm pitch, surface mount, copper-alloy contacts, glass-filled UL 94V-0 housing, −40 to +105 °C operating.